RSS

An Interview with Jen Gentry — Bestselling Author of The Gifts Series, The Gift of Light and The Gift of Knowledge.

30 Aug

http://www.amazon.com/Gift-Light-Gifts-ebook/dp/B00AOV9JEI/

Jen Gentry is a sweet Oklahoman author who has shined a gracious light on me. I haven’t read her books yet but look forward to doing so in the near future.

Q: Tell us a little about your “real” (Non-writing) life — family, job, church life. Does it give you inspiration for your writing? Does it get in the way of your writing, or are there times when you get help, from people or circumstances?

I am first and foremost a Christian. To me that means I am a follower of Christ and a child of God. I am then a wife, mother, grandmother, writer, and nurse. God, family, work, that is the order that works for me. I have had a wealth of experiences in my life. Some painful but mostly I am blessed to have been given the opportunity to be a caregiver in the service of our Lord. It is from my own life experiences that I draw my inspiration for my writing as well as the fact that I am an avid reader.

When I was a young girl I started reading as a way to escape. I’ve had a hearing loss since I was a baby and I found it difficult to fit in with other children. I started writing when my very wise mother bought me a Holly Hobby diary. I was nine years old. I found that I loved writing as much as I loved reading.

Today I find more and more the Lord presents himself through opportunities to connect with others and he brings about situations that benefit me through his glory. So yes, there have been many times that I have gotten help from people and circumstances, praise God. And yes I do find that my full-time job can get in the way of my writing. I have to smile here. But the Lord always provides a way for me. I try to always remember that perfect balance of God, family, writing, nursing.

Q: Tell us about things you enjoy — what you do for fun or personal satisfaction?

For fun I write. It’s also serious work that makes for a full-time second job. I love to cook for my family and when I can these days for the pure enjoyment of it I read. I am a dog lover and my husband and I always have a rescue dog or two we are working with as well as our own.

Q: Tell us about your newest book. Make us want to read it.

The Gift of Knowledge is the second book in the Gifts Series. In this book our heroine, Emily Bell, is all grown up. When she meets Dr. Ethan McGowan sparks fly as together they race to find the lost burial sites of the Red-Haired Giant Kings in the Amazon rainforest before the demon-driven Dr. Carmine Lazar does. The adventure is an epic trek through Brazil and the Amazon as angels and demons clash and battle for the right to claim the highly sought after burial site and the hidden treasure inside. But the treasure is not what you would expect it to be. Join Emily as she ventures into the very last frontier with her ever watchful guardian angel, Liam.

Q: What is the “message” of your writing? (For example, is your purpose to encourage old-fashioned values, encourage romance, or do you have different purposes in different books?)

The message in all of my books boils down to one thing ‘COME TO JESUS’ the message does kind of scream out like that and that is just the way I want it.

Q: Tell us one place you visited or person you met, that made a big impression on you, and why. Tell us one place you want to visit, or person you want to meet, and why.

I wanted to answer these two questions together as they are related for me. I recently visited The Heavener Runestone Park with my family. This visit impacted me greatly. First the runestone itself is shrouded in mystery and intrigue. It is thought to be a boundary marker for an ancient Viking settlement. The mystery of it all is that it is in Oklahoma. Since coming back from that road trip I’ve learned that there are several such markers all over the United States. This revelation has been huge for me since I love all things Viking as I am descended from them. As far as places I want to visit I really want to go to Scotland. I have a deep need to connect to my roots and I want to start in Scotland.

Q: What’s your next project? Tell us so we can’t wait for it to come out!

I have started work on Glome’s Dal. It is the Viking tale that incorporates the Heavener Runestone. The markings on the stone are believed to say “Glomesdal” translated to ‘Valley owned by Glome.” The story will center around Glome as he sets out on an adventure to claim his own lands. Along the way he finds trouble as in his quest for more power and control he turns to dark magic. He has to find his way to the Christian God to get himself out of the mess he creates. I am hoping to have this book ready to go for a Christmas release.
Then in the spring of next year I will launch the third and final book in the Gifts series. For next summer I have a set of three fun novellas coming out centered around a teenage boy named Charlie. Charlie’s adventures begin when he and his siblings go to live with their Uncle Simon. Uncle Simon’s house is full of ancient artifacts and a time traveling relic is found there. I can’t wait to see where Charlie and his sisters and brother end up.

Image of Jen Gentry

Here’s her Amazon Author page. http://www.amazon.com/Jen-Gentry/e/B0097IZEMK

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 30, 2013 in author interviews

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
