RSS

Interview With John A. Miller

19 Aug

This might seem like shameless self-promotion, but just because John Miller is my editing and cover design client doesn’t mean he’s not a great guy with an author journey worth hearing about. He’s a truck driver like hubby and we met through a facebook page for drivers and family members. He is a new author and he has great stories … short, so far, but he’s working on his first series and it’s very cool.

john miller author photo

https://www.facebook.com/JohnAMillerauthor

MF: Many people say that authors can’t or don’t do well with more than one genre. You have contemporary mystery, some romance, and now a western/speculative fiction series. What do you think prepared you or qualifies you to write these different types of books?

JM: I wouldn’t say I was qualified to write different genres. I write wherever my imagination is taking me when I sta.rt a story.

MF: What do you say to the charge that men can’t write romances that women will like, and how will you tempt guys to read your books?

JM: I’m a hopeless romantic at heart. I visualize what I want in romance and the way I wish I could have that in my life being single. As for tempting men to read my stories — I have some murder thrown in and some action that both men and woman would like.

MF: Tell us a little about your “real” (Non-writing) life — family, job, church life. Does it give you inspiration for your writing? Does it get in the way of your writing, or are there times when you get help, from people or circumstances?

JM: I’m self-employed and own an eighteen wheeler and travel the United States with my dogs. I do my best thinking and writing when I’m on the road. It gives me time to think of what I want to write about.

MF: Tell us about things you enjoy — what you do for fun or personal satisfaction.

I like old muscle cars and have two Trans Am’s that I incorporate into my stories’. I love animals and have two dogs’ that keep me company. I also like different types of music that help me relax.

MF: Tell us about working with any people who help you create your books — Do you use Beta readers? Hire an editor or proofreader? How do you get your covers?

JM: Well, If it wasn’t for Mary Campagna Findley, who does my editing and my covers, my stories would still be on my lap top sitting there not being published. She has also assisted me and educated me in certain phases to make my writing better.

MF: Since you have several books out, tell us what you think works for promotion. What are your thoughts on ebooks versus print books and different ways to let people know about you and your books?

JM: Since I am still new to the writing world I’m working on how to figure that part out. I think print books are nice. But with today’s technology, ebooks are the wave of the future and the ease of having a Kindle or Nook to get a book at any time of day or night will be here to stay.

MF: Have you done anything writing-related, but besides your books, that seemed to get a lot of positive response? Something that encouraged you?

JM: I wrote my first poem the other day and the response to it was overwhelming. What inspired to me write the poem was talking to my mom on how she missed my dad so much since his passing.

MF: Tell us about your newest book. Make us want to read it

JM: I’m real excited about my Gladstone book because of the characters I created for it. There is so much you can do with them and the story they tell makes it exciting. Everyone has secrets and the people of Gladstone have one for the ages.

MF: What is the “message” of your writing? (For example, is your purpose to encourage old-fashioned values, encourage romance, or do you have different purposes in different books?)

JM: I write Fiction. I just like to use my imagination and see where or how far I can go with it.

MF: Tell us one place you visited or person you met, that made a big impression on you, and why.

JM: I would say meeting Ensign George H. Gay who was the sole survivor of his torpedo squadron during the battle of Midway in world war two. I met him at an air show in 1988 and he told me stories from that day.

MF: Tell us one place you want to visit, or person you want to meet, and why.

JM: I want to go to the U.K. I have an author friend over there and I have all ways been fascinated with Europe.

MF: Share something that makes you laugh, with just plain humor, or happiness, or because it’s so stupid.

JM: Makes me laugh? I think going back to my childhood growing up with Randy and remembering the crazy things we did as kids. He passed away in 1985 from a car wreck. So I hold on to those memories closely.

MF: What’s the worst trouble you ever had with getting a book written (plots, finding needed information, getting a cover done)?

JM: I just need to sit down and write when the mood hits me.

MF: What’s your next project? Tell us so we can’t wait for it to come out!

JM: I am currently writing the sequel to Gladstone and hoping the characters will last to write three or maybe four stories with them.

Review by: Stewart Bint on June 22, 2013 : 5 stars for Gladstone

“In Gladstone, John A. Miller shows his skill at developing his characters and their relationship, while teasing the reader with the wider plot…all the while building to a great climax and totally unexpected revelation.

“This book posed a bit of a conundrum for me: I desperately wanted to get to the end to find out what the big secret was — John lays down some fascinating clues with conversations between the townsfolk — while on the other hand the story was so good I just didn’t want it to end.

I hope this is the first of a series of books about the wonderful town of Gladstone.”

http://www.amazon.com/Youll-be-Sorry-ebook/dp/B00ABS4ZIE

Lisa and Mark have known each other since they were eight. Bullies brought them together, and a stray dog might change their lives, their dreams, and their future….”I said you were not getting past us.” Sam began to laugh. Just as Mark stood up again he heard a voice come from behind him.
“Leave him alone!”
What now? He turned and noticed a small girl standing there.
She was about Mark’s age, eight or so, standing there pointing her finger at Sam and Bobby Jenkins. Sam just scowled at her and then they both laughed. “What are you going to do about it?”
What happened next was a shock even to an eight-year-old boy. She said, “You’ll be sorry.”

http://www.amazon.com/Friends-and-Strangers-ebook/dp/B00B50RNL8/

Roger Russell was just an average bachelor till he spilled coffee on a beautiful “uptown girl.” Then someone threw a little murder into the mix. Two of Roger’s best friends have suddenly become suspects and a big city detective obsessed with the “Silk Scarf Strangler” murders has either come to help, or to resurrect that killer in a new setting. Romance blossoms between Roger and Mary while small town dreams get mixed up with murder and friendship. Who can Roger trust?

http://www.amazon.com/Gladstone-ebook/dp/B00CYN76NU/

Jack Saunders just wants a new start after a messy divorce. He doesn’t bargain on a wrong turn and a breakdown in the Arizona desert. A beautiful girl coming to his rescue on a classic Indian motorcycle might mean things are looking up. Or, they might be turning really strange in a town that time forgot, with friendly people willing to die for a cause … to save a founder’s statue
….Haskell turned to John Smith. “Are we clear on this?”
“Yes sir. Crystal. I do have some questions, though.”
“You may ask your questions,” replied Haskell.
“How did you come up with this map and know what equipment is in what building? Second, what’s the name of this town?”
Haskell grinned and said, “it’s Gladstone, and I used to live there.”
“One last question. How are we supposed to wipe out a town and not worry about the consequences?”
“Don’t worry about that, Once we’re done, and before we leave, we will bury the town by blowing out the sides of the canyon cliffs. It will look like Mother Nature took care of them.”
John Smith nodded his head in approval. “You have this all figured out. So, any idea when we do this, so I can tell my men?”
“Soon,” replied Haskell with an evil grin.

 

Leave a Reply

 
